Board of Directors

 Lord St Levan - Chair

James is the twelfth generation of the St Aubyn family, who have occupied St Michael’s Mount since the 17th Century. As Chairman of the St Aubyn Estates which spans 5,000 acres with a diverse portfolio of businesses which include land and property manage ment, tourism and hospitality, building and farming, he is responsible for a key part of west Cornwall’s iconic landscape. James St Levan's career history also includes the merchant bank, Kleinwort Benson, and is the founder chairman of Pirate FM which won the first independent radio license for Cornwall. From this grew UKRD Group which operates some 20 radio licenses across England.


 Malcolm Bell

Malcolm is Chief Executive of Visit Cornwall. A passionate brand ambassador for destination Cornwall, Malcolm is a key spokesperson across the world for tourism issues and sits on European and national advisory boards. He is also a member of the Forestry Commissions Regional Advisory Board, a Director of South West Lakes, a Governor for Cornwall College and a Trustee of the Charity that oversees the Fifteen Cornwall Restaurant that helps disadvantaged youth to train to be chefs.


 Gordon Seabright

Gordon is Director of the Eden Project. Before joining Eden in June 2014, he was Chief Executive of CTC, the national cycling charity. Prior to that he was Acting Director General and Commercial Director of the Royal Horticultural Society, joining the RHS in 2006 following four years as Commercial Director of English Heritage, where he was responsible for Stonehenge.


 Nigel Carpenter

Nigel is Proprietor of St Michael’s Hotel & Spa, Falmouth. Following a successful career in marketing and general management he purchased St Michael’s in 2001 with his wife Julie and they have since invested £5 million in transforming the hotel into one of the top four star hotels in Cornwall. Nigel’s next ambitious project is the redevelopment of the old Falmouth Beach Resort site with a flagship ‘Liner’ building. He also has plans to re-develop Old County Hall in Truro to create Truro’s first four star Spa Hotel.


 Tim Light

Tim is Director of Fal River Cornwall, a tourism network which integrates local river, road and rail transport. Tim sits at the heart of Cornwall’s developing marine transport sector following a long career spent in various parts of the globe with Her Majesty’s armed forces.


 Will Ashworth

Will is Managing Director of Watergate Bay having taken over the running of the Watergate Bay hotel from his parents in 2004. Under Will’s guidance Watergate Bay has seen significant regeneration to become a ski resort on a beach. It is now a recognised destination brand for Cornwall, complete with an accommodation portfolio, range of restaurants, leisure facilities and events calendar.


Zoë Curnow – Director at The Minack Theatre

Zoë grew up in Cornwall, and first worked at The Minack Theatre as a student. After a successful few years working at senior management and chief executive positions in theatres in the South East, Zoë returned to Cornwall nine years ago to manage The Minack Theatre – one of Cornwall’s most recognisable landmarks. Zoë is also an executive committee member of the Cornwall Association of Tourist Attractions, a member of the Porthcurno Coastal Community Team and chairman of her local nursery.


Julie Towers FCA CTA AIIT – VAT Partner at PKF Francis Clark

Julie is a VAT partner at PKF Francis Clark splitting her time between Truro and Exeter and is responsible for all areas of VAT within the firm. She offers proactive and practical advice on VAT, ranging from compliance to complicated technical issues. Prior to joining PKF Francis Clark, Julie was director of VAT Services for a medium sized firm of accountants in Oxfordshire and UK VAT Manager for Siemens plc.  


Councilor Bob Egerton – Observer to the Board

Bob is the Cornwall Councillor for the electoral division of Probus, Tregony and Grampound. He is the portfolio holder for Planning and Economy on the Council’s Cabinet.
Bob has an M.A. from St Catharine’s College, Cambridge, and a Diploma in Law from Plymouth University.