The Vale of Avalon and Arthurian Centre
Discover The Vale of Avalon at The Arthurian Centre, Slaughterbridge! Both the inscribed stone and battle are both dated by earliest stories to AD540. Visitors can walk through the fields where King Arthur and Mordred met for their last battle. We invite you to explore the 20 acre site through over 1500 years of history.
Read about the legends and the history in our exhibition room, watch a video presentation on the site and legends. There is something for everyone including brass rubbing, children's quiz, gift shop tea room and, for our smaller visitors, a play castle.
Archaeological site open to the public. Now open is “Lady Falmouth’s Secret Garden”, an 18th century garden rediscovered in 2005. Ongoing restoration - come and visit now and visit the garden gradually brought to life!!
On this site:
1500 year old inscribed stone (also known as King Arthur's Grave)
Lady Falmouth's Secret Garden
Archaeology - 750 year old longhouse ruin to explore.
Cornish Legends and History
Information about the County of Cornwall
The Arthurian Centre is located on the site of King Arthur's last battle. Marked by a stone carrying a Latin inscription which dates back to the 6th century it is belived to be the location upon which Arthur and Mordred fought their last battle which ended the fellowship of the round table in AD 537.
The centre itself is dedicated to telling fact from fiction. A fascinating place to visit which certainly brings the legend of King Arthur to life. An interesting and insightful day out for all the family!!
In 20 acres surrounding 'King Arthur's Stone'. Walks through the fields where King Arthur and Mordred met for their last battle. Inscribed stone and battle both dated by earliest stories to AD540. Lots to do and read about the legend and the history. Video loop and brass rubbing, children's quiz. Local products gift shop, play castle. Unravel fact from fiction. Archaeological site open to the public. “Lady Falmouth’s Secret Garden” - unique early Georgian 'Arcadian' garden rediscovered in 2005. Ongoing restoration - come and visit now and visit the garden gradually brought to life!